"Checked Out" campaigns - Intentional Delay?

Hi all,
Sometimes someone at my organisation will try to open a Campaign/Email/etc and be told that it is “Checked out” by someone else.

I’ve noticed that this can happen even when Person B is no longer logged in or active.

I can’t work out if:

  1. Clicking “Save and Close” doesn’t remove the Checked Out block
  2. Timing out doesn’t remove the Checked Out block

Any ideas if this is intentional and/or a bug?