Mass sending with Mautic?

Dear Mautic Community,

I’m a Mautic newbie who just did his first Mautic installation. I like the software so much that I’m considering using it both for:

• moderate/low volume marketing automation type emails
  • sending so-called email blasts (to double opt-in recipients) … typically weekly newsletters, or broadcast email to a segment in Mautic terms.

My goal is to centralize email sending activities in a single system (automation + newsletters), which raises a few questions about mass sending with Mautic:

1. Is Mautic up to the job of sending a weekly newsletter to ~100,000 recipients?

2. Which email transport provider would you advise in this case?

I expect peaks of email open/click events coming to the Mautic server at a rate of maybe 100 requests/second.

1. What server hardware is required to handle such a peak rate with Mautic?

I’ve seen that Mautic can be configured to use RabbitMQ or Beanstalkd queues to process event peaks without loss.

1. What kind of event rate justifies introducing queue systems like these in a Mautic deployment?

2. Would you recommend RabbitMQ over Beanstalkd?

Any real-word experience of mass sending with Mautic will be very much appreciated.

… and many thanks to the Mautic team for this great software!

Regards,

Hi @lhpz!
Mautic is built for that.
We have customers with lists way over 100.000 contacts.
They are running several campaigns (autoresponders with email and push notifications) side by side PLUS sending at least weekly newsletters.

All our servers are on google cloud platform and use Amazon SES for sending emails.

I think for your volume a simple VM with 2cpu and 4GB Ram does the job.
Maybe it works with even one cpu. You can scale up at any point if you need to.

What we found so far is that a queue system is not yet necessary for our clients. That depends on server capacities though.