Disallow Mautic access remotely but allow unsubscribe link

Your software
My Mautic version is: v3.3.5
My PHP version is: 7.3.33
My Database type and version is: MariaDB 10.5.15
My Webserver is: Apache v2.4.6

My problem is:

Very simple question. Does anyone have a quick .htaccess snippet or another method to disallow remote access to Mautic, but still allow the campaign ‘Unsubscribe’ links to work? (Ie. to “http://mymautic.example.com/email/unsubscribe/xxxxxxxxxx”)

I imagine it’s very simple, but I’m not finding an example and quite honestly Apache directives make my head hurt. :slight_smile:

Essentially I’m looking for src: 192.168.0.0/16 to be allowed to the dashboard, anything else only allow access to the email unsubscribe link.

Thank you!

Hello @dspraker,

If I understand correctly you want to :

Is this correct?

Pierre

Exactly. The /email/unsubscribe is sent out via the campaign emails, and that is the only type of external access I would like.

I am not an expert at apache but I think what you are looking for is something like - this is not tested:

# Except those allowed below.
    <If "%{REQUEST_URI} =~ m#^/(index|index_dev|upgrade/upgrade)\.php#">
        Order allow,deny
        Deny from all
        Allow from [your IP]
    </If>

<If "%{REQUEST_URI} =~ ^/email/unsubscribe/(.+)$">
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
    </If>

Well, it looks valid, but you’re right… not working. I get:

[Fri Apr 01 16:52:10.036466 2022] [core:alert] [pid 9930] [client 192.168.xx.xx:50518] /var/www/html/.htaccess: Cannot parse condition clause: syntax error, unexpected T_ERROR, expecting T_REGEX or T_REGEX_I: Parse error near '^', referer: http://192.168.xx.xx/

Because the .htaccess is just a bunch of rewrite modules, I just put them into the top. Look valid?

# Use the front controller as index file. It serves as a fallback solution when
# every other rewrite/redirect fails (e.g. in an aliased environment without