F*ck Amazon! Seriously (well, kind of :) )

I got everything set up and tested and tried to move my SES account out of the sandbox and this is the response I got.

I linked them to my website and sent multiple tests through the service so they know what I’m sending.

They give you a drop-down box to choose the type of mail you’re going to be sending, I chose “marketing”. Why even have the option if they aren’t going to supply the service!?

I’m now sending out the mailshot through my own mail server hosted on my residential ISP connection, lets see if they’re right, lol.

(p.s. I’ve been running this mail server from this IP for over 20 years without issue, I don’t really anticipate any reputational damage TBH, the only reason I wanted to use SES in the first place is that I don’t want my ISP getting annoyed).

We currently have around 6000 customers opted in for marketing messages. These will be sent around once a month at a slow pace (around 500 per day). Marketing messages are only sent to current customers who have opted in, include a one click unsubscribe link and header and follow all regulations, bounces will be automatically unsubscribed with the help of the SNS service.

Transactional emails will likely be moved to SES too at a later date once it has proved to be reliable.

:-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,

Thank you for providing us with additional information regarding your sending limits. We are unable to grant your request at this time.

We reviewed your request and determined that your use of Amazon SES could have a negative impact on our service. We are denying this request to prevent other Amazon SES customers from experiencing interruptions in service.

For security purposes, we are unable to provide specific details.

For more information about our policies, please review the AWS Acceptable Use Policy ( AWS Acceptable Use Policy ) and AWS Service Terms ( AWS Service Terms ).