New mautic install and preexisting contact list

Mautic version is: v3.2.5
My PHP version is: 7.3.26
My Database type and version is: percona server 5.7.32

I am pretty new to marketing (20years sysadmin and dev) but at this momment very interested to switch into marketing, so excuse me if my question is so simple.

I have a new Mautic install and a site with the tracking enabled since some days and it has created around 5000 anonymous contacts automatically (no forms, no nothing yet on the site to link ip/contact to an email).
Also I have a contact list from the site with around 40K contacts. That list have the following fields:

• name
  • email
  • zipcode
  • is_lead
  • date_lead
  • is_profesional
  • date_profesional
  • is_customer
  • date_customer
  • is_usingalerts
  • date_alert_last
  • use_feature_1
  • date_feature_1
  • use_feature_n
  • date_feature_n

I need to import them to Mautic and link any user to the existing contact on Mautic but not sure how to archieve it or even if it is possible.

After the import there I have another doubt:
When other new users fill forms in the existing application (lets say a newsletter) will not be added and tracked automatically to Mautic.
My guess is that we will need to ‘notify’ Mautic about the event : { ‘user’: ‘xxx@yyy.com’, ‘use_newsletter’: true, ‘date_newsletter’: ‘yyyy/mm/dd’ }.
How it is that archieved?

And a third doubt: If the new email does not exists mautic will create the new contact, but if it exists will Mautic update the proper fields? (use_newsleter, date_newsletter in the example)

Excuse the extension of my first post :slight_smile:

Hello @IvanG , welcome to the Community.

Did you mean you want to connect your anonymous users to identified users?
That actually happens upon interactions. Let me start from the beginning.

1. As first step create the fields in Mautic (some of them, like email, firstname, etc are already created.)
    You can do it by Settings > Custom fields.