New to Mautic and concerned about future

Hello Mautic Community,

I am fairly new to Mautic and am considering using it as our marketing automation solution. I am curious about what does the community think the long-term viability/support/direction/etc. is for the self-hosted Mautic option since Mautic was acquired by Acquia somewhat recently. Do you all feel someone new like myself should continue down the Mautic path or consider something else?

Thanks for all your advice and opinions.
Alex

1 Like

As long as you are aware and accept:
-There is a learning curve
-It does require some technical expertise or access to technical expertise. Root access and the ability to run ssh commands aren’t optional.
-Is designed to run on minimal resources, but will require significant server resources as you scale at enterprise levels.
-You must take advantage of API to perform complex tasks efficiently with a higher number of contacts, segments or campaign steps.
-It will not have all the functionality out of the box that other platforms have. Generally $$$ will have to be spent to add or integrate features not already available.
-3rd party integrations change without warning. If Linkedin for example changes their API they wont notify you, the integration will just break.

Bugs happen. Post to forum with as much info as possible. If its an actual bug and not a setting or server problem post it on github to be addressed. For the good of the community.

I believe Mautic as a platform will be around for some time and a worthy investment IF you are aware that it is not the out of the box rival to other paid options and the results you get are the direct effect of what you put into it.

4 Likes