New to Mautic: Does it require SES?

I recently had Mautic installed on a private VPS.

However, since I am new to Mautic and don’t have the schedule to learn all the features (it’s not particularly user friendly) I am a bit uncertain about some of the info on You Tube:

If I use Mautic on a private VPS do I still need Amazon SES (or similar) integration to be able to send email campaigns? I thought it could be used without dependence on any other external service connected which is what I prefer?

One of my helpers to set up campaigns and lists complain that Mautic shows chron issues but the installer sent reports that chron works fine. The campaign helpers still insist they get chron errors. What could be the reason?

Hi. Yes you do need to use an external ESP. This is one of the beautiful things about Mautic is that it is agnostic to your ESP.

Not sure I understand your second question.

Well, thank you for the response.

That makes Mautic pretty useless for mass-mailing. We have 100% clean lists but reliance on Amazon SES is not good. Amazon is blocking a lot of accounts lately, and not allowing sending increases. We got blocked before we sent a single campaign. Never happened before in ten years.

I’m hearing an increased number of complaints about Amazon from many email campaigners lately, saying they’re starting to have difficulty getting send limits lifted and getting blocked.

why ? move to a different ESP, try SendGrid or SparkPost. SparkPost is amazing if you have 100% clean lists!!

We have customers using Mautic and holding database of a few million contacts and sending out anything from a few thousand up to around 3M per month

1 Like

Thank you for your kind recommendation.