if someone signs up for the newsletter (tested via a Mautic Form, that is added via HTML code into a WordPress page) with an email address that already exists, the existing userdata is overwritten with the new one from the form.
It would be much better, when it’s not possible to overwrite existing data so simple (by only knowing the email address), but display an error message.
And the much more disappointing thing: Because it’s a german site, we have added a Double Opt-In registration. And every time the user get’s a new email with the confirmation link - even when the user already unsubscribed and is marked as “do not contact”!
In the “next events” area in the user profile it says (translated from german):
Especially that the person gets still an email although he is marked as "do not contact" seems to me as a bug. Or is there something that I didn't consider?